Turkey, Anatolian fortress
The Anatolian fortress (Anadoluhisar) is a small fortress located in the Asian part of Istanbul on the banks of the Bosphorus opposite Andoluhisary, near the town of Asomats, where Byzantine prisons were located. This fortress is considered the oldest structure of Turkish architecture in Istanbul. To the north of this fortress is the Fatih Sultan Memed Viaduct.
Anadoluhisar was built on the initiative of Sultan Bayazid the First during one of the sieges of the city in 1393 and was intended for the siege of Constantinople. The fortress is located on an area of 7000 square meters in the narrowest place of the Bosphorus (only 660 meters wide). Later, the Anatolian fortress was fortified by Sultan Mehmed II, who made such a decision in order to block the Bosphorus and thereby block Constantinople from the north. In 1452, opposite Anadoluhisar, a new fortress, Rumelihisar, was built, and all maritime traffic through the Bosphorus was then under the absolute control of the Ottoman Empire. The Bosphorus itself was especially important for the Genoese in Galata, who were allies of the Byzantines and had colonies on the Black Sea, such as Kafa, Sinop and Amasra.
The Anatolian fortress was also used as an observation post. Three guard towers were built around the fortress. Because of these changes, it has not retained its original appearance. With the fall of Constantinople, the fortress turned into a prison.
Initially, the fortress was called “Gyuzeldzhe Hisar” and was located on the nearest coast. Its size was slightly smaller than the fortress of Rumeli on the opposite bank. The construction of the fortress was widely deployed and far removed it from the seashore. A large number of summer villas stretched around the fortress, which belonged to prominent statesmen and military officials of the Ottoman Empire. In the next part of the Bosphorus, modern residential areas and fishing villages are mainly located, where you can enjoy fresh fish and other marine products. By the way, the Goksu and Kukuksu rivers flowing nearby are called “Sweet Waters of Asia” by westerners.
Every detail of this grand structure shakes with its highest craftsmanship and grace. On the territory of the fortress can pass through the entrance, located near the roadway. A beautiful garden leads to the main entrance, through which tourists and guests of the city can enter the spacious hall, and then into the living room, where they used to receive visitors. The main staircase is a magnificent and truly spectacular sight. Not far from it there is a large kitchen, which adjoins a beautiful dining room and a bar, which is perfectly suited for dinner parties or parties in a refined atmosphere. A stunning view opens from the living room on the first floor to the waters of the Bosphorus. All windows are framed with beautiful wooden shutters. The surprisingly spacious bedroom is complemented by two walk-in closets (male and female), as well as a bathroom. Located to the right of the stairs, the other two bedrooms also amaze with their size.
The top floor apartment is a studio-type room with a private bathroom, a living room and a kitchen. It would not be superfluous to note the fact that all the windows of the bedrooms also overlook the Bosphorus. The basement was specially equipped for entertainment and recreation. Here are located game rooms and a massive pool table. From this room you can get into a cozy home theater. On the right side of the staircase is the laundry room and the central heating room. There is also a bathroom and a small kitchen.
The unique location in the heart of the Bosphorus and the truly royal luxury of this palace makes this place a valuable find even for the most demanding tourists. In 1991-1993, the fortress was restored and transformed into a museum, closed to the public.