France, Roncere Abbey
Roncere Abbey is located in the historic center of Angers, about half a kilometer from the Cathedral of St. Mauritius, but on the other side of the River Maine. The area opposite the castle is called La Dutre (translated as “the other side”). The abbey buildings are located on the central square of La Dutra, near the hospital of Saint-Jean, which from XII century to the middle of the XIX century served as a hospital for the poor, and today in its walls is a museum of contemporary tapestry. Currently in one of the buildings of the abbey live nuns.
The monastery was founded in 1028 and was the only female abode in Angers and at the same time one of the largest in the diocese, along with the Fontenvro monastery. The abbey was built during the reign of Count Anjou Fulk III Nerre, who, strengthening his possessions, built many castles and other structures.
The abbey was rebuilt several times – in the 70s of the XI century, at the beginning of the XII century. In the XVII-XVIII centuries, several more buildings appeared in the abbey complex, including a gate of a monumental view from Censeri Street. In the southern part of the abbey is the Church of the Holy Trinity, built in the XII century.
In the XVI century, the monastery was engaged in the production of tapestries, so today, next to the abbey there is a museum dedicated to this kind of weaving craft. It contains the well-known woven work of the 20th century “The Song of the World” – a grand cycle made by Jean Lyurs, a textile artist who lived in the first half of the last century. The building of the former orphanage abbey abbey today is the National School of Arts and Crafts. The territory of the abbey also becomes the venue for art exhibitions and festivals.
The interiors of the abbey attract tourists with their galleries in the Romanesque style and old frescoes.