France, Noirlac Abbey
Noirlack Abbey, located in the department of Cher, is one of the points of the popular tourist route “Jacques Coeur Road”. Jacques Coeur lived in the XV century, was born in the city of Bourges (the abbey is located 50 kilometers away) and became one of the first capitalists of France. The royal treasurer, a successful industrialist and the owner of a multimillion-dollar fortune (many even considered him an alchemist), Jacques Coeur lent money to many dignitaries, and soon his debtors wanted to get rid of their creditor.
He was accused of almost all mortal sins: in the poisoning of Agnes Sorel, favorite of Charles VII, counterfeiting and high treason. Jacques Coeur was expelled from France and died in exile. The route was developed in the middle of the last century and passes through the cities, one way or another connected with the biography of Kör.
Abbey of Noarlac was founded in 1136 as one of the 66 subsidiary cloisters of the abbey of Clervaux, which was one of the “five” of the most important monasteries of the Cistercian Order. The founders of Noarlach were monks from Clervaux. The monastery received its present name only in the second half of the 13th century, and it was associated with one of the local lakes, which they began to call black (noir lac – “black lake”) after the death of a young man – the son of a local landowner.
The thirteenth century was for the abbey a time of prosperity: several buildings were restored, the number of monks grew, the monastery owned lands, mills and farms. But the following centuries became for the monastery a series of trials and hardships – the events of the Hundred Years War, Prageria (riots of the feudal lords of 1440) did not bypass it. The commandment regime introduced also did not contribute to the prosperity of the monastery, and then the already difficult situation of the monastery was aggravated by religious wars and conflicts of the Fronde times.
In the XVIII century, the Abbey of Noarlac got a chance for revival, but the Great French Revolution began, after which the monastery was closed, sold to a private person and turned into a factory for the production of porcelain. In 1860, the monastery received the status of a historical monument, but remained privately owned. At the beginning of the 20th century, the state bought it out and carried out the restoration.
Now there is a museum in Noarlak. In the monastery complex you can see the cloister with galleries, a church with colorful stained glass windows, novice houses and other buildings.