Estonia, Toolese Castle
The castle of Tools, more precisely its ruins are in the Viru county. In Russian documents, it is known as Tolburg and Tolchebor. It is assumed that the castle was built in 1471. It is believed that it was the latest among the castles of the Livonian Order in Estonia. Tooles Castle is the most northern fortress in Estonia. Toolsse is built on the coast of the Gulf of Finland very close to the water. The castle was founded on the orders of the Master of the Livonian Order Johann von Wolthuisen-Hertz 4 km from the present city of Kund. Initially, the castle was called Fredebourg, which means “Peace Castle”. The original purpose of its construction was to protect the harbor and the coast from pirates.
Originally, the castle was called Fredeburg (Peace Castle) and was intended to protect the harbor and the coast from pirates.
About the castle is not so much information, as in historical chronicles, he was mentioned infrequently. Originally, the Three-story Castle was built, as a result of the rebuilding in the late 15th and 16th centuries. A structure with several inner courtyards was formed, which served as the residence of the Livonian Order. The length of this building was 55 meters.
A number of sources say that the castle suffered during the Livonian War in 1558, when the castle tried to capture the troops of Ivan the Terrible. However, according to the chronicles of Baltasar Russov, Tools Castle was surrendered without a fight. Then the noblemen who left the castle consoled each other: “Let the Russians take their lands and cities, the Danish king again takes them from them.”
On the orders of Ivan the Terrible in 1570, new fortifications were built in Tools. After repeated attempts to seize the castle, the Swedes managed to take Tools in 1580-81. During the Northern War, the castle was destroyed, then the town near the castle walls also ceased to exist. Today, the walls facing the land are much better preserved than those that look at the sea. In the 20th century, the ruins were fortified and preserved, thus preserving the walls from further destruction. In modern photographs on the surfaces of the walls you can see yellow diamonds – these are the fastening parts of the stretch marks that strengthen the walls.