Estonia, Arched bridge “Kaarsild”
In the 18th century, near the Town Hall Square was built a stone bridge “Kivisild” (Tartu Kivisild), dedicated to the Empress Catherine II. In 1775 a great fire occurred in the city of Tartu, in which a large part of the city center burned down. The Empress provided funds for the restoration of the city, including the construction of a bridge. Work on the construction of the bridge began in the spring of 1776. For the movement, the bridge was opened in 1784.
The construction took place under the leadership of IA Tsaklovsky and IK Siegfrieden. This bridge, which became a royal gift to the city, was built of granite blocks. The convicts – members of the Pugachev uprising – were working at the construction site. The bridge was with two arches, the middle part was elevated. He was the first stone bridge in the Baltic countries. On his support was struck the text: “River, stop your current! Catherine ordered. ” Built Stone Bridge became one of the symbols of the city of Tartu.
Unfortunately, during the Second World War the bridge was destroyed. Its wreckage was removed only during the construction of the current pedestrian arch bridge. Reinforced concrete arches of the new bridge are based on the foundation of the former Stone Bridge. The new arch bridge Kaarsild, connecting the banks of the Emajõgi River, was opened to pedestrians in 1960. In 2004, near the bridge, a model of the former Stone Bridge was installed. In St. Petersburg there is a twin brother of a stone bridge in Tartu. This is the Lomonosov Bridge on the Fontanka River, built in 1785-1787.